History resources

Useful Sites for Local and Family History Researchers

1 HISTORICAL SOCIETIES

Balwyn Historical Society http://home.vicnet.net.au/~balwynhs/
Box Hill Historical Society http://home.vicnet.net.au/~bhhs/
Camberwell Historical Society http://www.chs.org.au/
Canterbury History Group http://home.vicnet.net.au/~canthist/
Hawthorn Historical Society http://www.hawthornhistoricalsociety.com.au/
Kew Historical Society http://www.kewhistoricalsociety.org.au/
Royal Historical Society of Victoria (RHSV) – Local History Database www.historyvictoria.org.au/societies/victorian-local-history-database
Whitehorse Historical Society http://home.vicnet.net.au/~ndhsinc/

2 MUNICIPAL LIBRARY SERVICE LOCAL HISTORY COLLECTIONS

Boroondara Library Service Local History Collection http://www.boroondara.vic.gov.au/libraries/local-family-history
Whitehorse-Manningham Regional Library Corporation – https://wml.spydus.com/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/MSGTRN/OPAC/HOME
Whitehorse Manningham Heritage Network
Cemetery Database
Diggers Database
Petition Database

3 NATIONAL AND STATE BODIES

National Archives of Australia (NAA) www.naa.gov.au/collection/search/
National Library of Australia (NLA) – online digital newspaper articles www.trove.nla.gov.au/
Picture Victoria – access to pictorial and photographic collections held in Victoria’s public libraries
Public Record Office of Victoria (PROV) www.prov.vic.gov.au
State Library of Victoria (SLV) online catalogue www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover
For beginners to family history look at http://guides.slv.gov.au/victorianancestors
Victorian Government Gazette – online archive 1836-1997 www.gazette.slv.vic.gov.au/
www.picturevictoria.vic.gov.au

4 CEMETERY RECORDS

Australian Cemeteries www.australiancemeteries.com/
Boroondara (Kew) Cemetery search www.kewcemetery.com.au/FindGrave.aspx
Box Hill Cemetery search www.boxhillcemetery.org/mapguide/BoxHill/Public/search.php
Springvale Botanical Cemetery online search www.sbc.smct.org.au/deceased-search-help/

5 FAMILY HISTORY

Ancestry Library edition – Many libraries have subscriptions which allow you to use this within the library with library membership
Australian Births, Deaths and Marriages Registries – http://www.australia.gov.au/topics/law-and-justice/births-deaths-and-marriages-registries
Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (AIGS) www.aigs.org.au/
Findmypast: Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, United Kingdom, United States – Many libraries have subscriptions which allow you to use this within the library with library membership
Genealogical Society of Victoria www.gsv.org.au/

6 WORLD WAR 1 RECORDS

Australian War Memorial www.awm.gov.au/research
Commonwealth War Graves Commission http://www.cwgc.org/
Discovering Anzacs http://discoveringanzacs.naa.gov.au/
Grave secrets – a private site with cemetery and WW1 photos and information http://www.gravesecrets.net/
National Archives of Australia (NAA) www.naa.gov.au/
The AIF Project 2015 https://www.aif.adfa.edu.au/index.html

7 OTHER

Australian Women’s History Forum www.womenshistory.net.au/timeline/
Bob Padula’s Mont Albert District – A pictorial history http://bpadula.tripod.com/montalbert/
Victorian Police Museum www.policemuseum.vic.gov.au/collection/overview
Prahran Mechanics Institute Library http://library.pmi.net.au/
Victorian Railways History Resources www.vrhistory.com/

Support our centre's important work

Location

157 Union Road
Surrey Hills
Vic 3127

Email Newsletter

Sign up for our community updates

Contact

For more information and enquiries